Jump training

We liked the jump training at Johannesberg’s Castle so much last week that we decided to go back again today with Popgun. We brought Shahina along as company again too. 

Popgun more than lived up to his name today and was almost as strong as a Shotgun instead of a toy gun. He practically dragged me around the course, which is not exactly ideal. At last he shows a lot of enthusiasms. So all I need to do now is install a set of breaks and we will be good to go. (Or not. Our technique needs a lot of work as well.)

The fact that Popgun had rested both yesterday and the day before probably didn’t make things easier either. Yesterday evening, my mom and I went to a an interesting presentation on equine respiratory conditions. The night before I needed to do school work and my mom went to a presentation held by Endurance rider Annelie Eriksson (which I was told was really great). Both days we only had time to do the chores and neither of us got out riding at all. 

But I am really hoping this jump training thing has turned into something we will do every week. Not only do we get to work on our jump moves, Popgun also gets some extra trailer training. 

The only problem for me is that my own confidence level can, at times, get properly pushed down. We are both so new to jumping after all so sometimes look, quite frankly, ridiculous. It takes quite a lot of rider meditation to tell yourself that it is alright to always be the one that the trainer needs to lower the jumps for. You’d think I’d get used to it but apparently not. I will be singing with joy on the day when we are on the same level as everyone else. 

I put together a little movie of both good parts and mistakes so try not to laugh too hard when you watch it. The music is fun too so make sure to turn it on by turning your phone off silent mode. 

Sponsored by 🔹Puls och Träning Kungsängen🔹 and 🔹Exclusive Horsewear🔹 

Leave a Reply

