Poopgun

Shahina and Adam joined Arshaq and myself for a refreshing 35 minute walk in the paddock today after finishing the chores. 

We changed directions often and I tried to keep Arshaq thinking as much as possible by mixing in some trot and asking him to stop and then back up. He tried to dance around the first time we started trotting and made a (not so graceful) bounce when one of the other horse cantered close by us (one time), but other than that he was very well behaved. 

Afterwards, Popgun and I followed mom and Nipeta for 11,15 km on the hilly road down past the lakes. We kept the tempo quite slow since it was a little icey in places so the ride time ended up being almost exactly 2 hours.

I had to dismount (and then get on again) 5 times during our ride, which took a good deal of extra time. (I got off twice to help adjust my mom’s stirrups, once to push Popgun‘s poop off the road, once to pick up mom’s glove and then finally at the end before going back into the stable to thaw out my toes..)

I would have had to jump off yet another time if Popgun, or Poopgun, hadn’t luckily managed to poop while I was still on the ground helping mom. 

For some reason I wasn’t properly dressed today so I almost froze into a popsicle, even after all my gymnastics while getting in and out of the saddle. But now, after some pony cuddles and a warm shower, I am able to properly move my toes and face again enough to feel happy after a long day. 🦄💛 

Leave a Reply

