A Confident Rider makes a Brave Horse

Tonight’s jump training showed us that we are slowly heading toward where we want to be. 💛🦄🏆🏅

Maybe we will sign up for a small pay&jump before or next endurance competition? 🤔  And if we do: where and when should we go? 

It was obvious that we still have some insecurities every time we try going over a new jump. But as soon as we’ve flown over a particular fence in a good way then we can jump it again without an extra thought. This  could maybe be a problem at a competition since one wouldn’t get the chance to jump the course a few times before starting. I guess, unless we sign up for multiple classes. 

Anyway, I am not quite sure how show jumpers usually start out a new horse’s carrier. Based on past experiences, I would say that most people tend to be less careful(or paranoid) than I am and I feel most people just sort of go out there and take a leap of faith. I am not sure. Perhaps there is something to be said for going and getting that first nervous competition over with. Maybe that is exactly what we need to do just because it goes against the perfectionist inside of me that loves to scream for stability and order. 

Popgun would probably think it was quite awesome as long as there was jumping (and running) involved. 

Another thing that I thought about a lot today was how much my own attitude between the jumps rubbed off on Popgun. 

We had just landed after the small black, red and white fence and were cantering towards the red oxer when a sudden flash of uncertentity came over me. 

I felt like I needed another second to prepare myself for the new jump since it was new and for some reason felt ginormous combated to the other fences ( even though it wasn’t). And this tiny change in attitude from my side immediately rubbed off on Popgun. 

My short moment of hesitation was enough to make him sort of run sideways and miss the next jump, which would count as a clear refusal in a competion. (And that is something you don’t want because it counts as 4 faults, assuming this endurance rider remembers correctly.)  

It took one more failed attempt before I took the extra time to clear my mind and properly convince him that I wasn’t afraid anymore. Then he jumped. And let me tell you, when we’ve got our flow working properly, my unicorn sure can jump.  

To me this just shows what a differance my attitude can make when it comes to our performance together. I have a feeling that I might need to remind myself about that in the future(probably on multiple occasions too.
One thing is certain: my Popgun sure looked good in his new saddle pad from Exclusive Horsewear 💙 💛 It has his name embroidered onto it with gold letters which made our outfit really Pop. 💥🔫


​​

Sponsored by 🔸Exclusive Horsewear🔸and 🔹Puls och Träning Kungsängen🔹

Leave a Reply

